

COA Curriculum Committee Meeting Tuesday Sept 5, 2023 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Room: H 280 Zoom: https://us06web.zoom.us/j/8 6976405526 Curriculum Committee Members: V. Phan (C/Articulation), P. Nelson (C/LSLA), Min Wu (Curric Spectemp), L. Dewrance (STEM), Vacant (STEM, Vacant (STEM), J. Campbell (LSLA), Ann Chun (LSLA), O. Fish (CE), J. Rose (LIS), Vacant (At Large), AS Pres. J. Fowler, Acting VPI M. Jones, Deans E. Jennings, R. Majlesi, W. Ramos Ochoa

Draft Minutes

1. Organizational Items

- 1.1. Call to Order, welcome to members, guests and associates *The meeting was called to order at 1:03 P.M.*
- 1.2. Approval of Agenda for Sept. 5, 2023 meeting *Approved. E. Jennings moved, L. Dewrance seconded. Unanimously approved.*
- 1.3. Approval of Minutes of Aug. 28, 2023 meeting *Approved. L. Dewrance moved, R. Majlesi seconded. Unanimously approved*
- 1.4. Introductions: Dr. William Ramos Ochoa, Acting Dean for LSLA, A. Chun, LSLA faculty, J. Fowler, AS President

2. Continuing Business

3. Old Business / Discussion Items:

4. Old Business / Discussion Items:

4.1. Curriculum Institute Debrief

T. Nelson: AB 928: Cal-GETC. Continuing discussion about Lifelong learning and American Institutions. AB 1111: Common Course Numbering: Law says catalog will be prepared by summer 2024. Expect direction by end of spring 2024. A. Chun: DEI Language in curriculum

4.2 Review of bylaws

Discussion of updating Curriculum Committee Bylaws regarding membership.

5. Reports:

5.1. Curriculum Specialist: No reports; Tech Reviewer: May have additional things to put on future agenda; Articulation Officer: Will share information regarding CSU GE and GETC areas. AS President: First AS meeting of the year on Thursday, Sept. 7th 12:20 – 1:20 pm in H 280 and Zoom will include discussion about contract education courses.

6. Announcements:

- 6.1 T. Nelson and V. Phan curriculum terms ending at completion of 2023-24 academic year. Nominations in April, vote in May.
- **7.** Next meeting, Sept. 19, 2023, 1 2:30 p.m.

8. Adjournment:

Approved. E. Jennings moved, L. Dewrance seconded. Unanimously approved.