English FOR SPEAKERS OF other languages (ESOL)

about English FOR SPEAKERS OF other languagtes (ESOL)

Welcome to the College of Alameda ESOL department for non-native English learners! We are a small and special English program dedicated to helping you reach your goals in English.

ESOL On-Boarding

The Self-Guided Placement tool is to help students identify their ESOL level and choose the correct classes in the ESOL Department at College of Alameda.

2021-2022 Catalog

Course Descriptions and Program Requirements

Get Help from a Counselor

Having trouble navigating the program? We are here to help!

What you will learn:

We will help you develop your English for: Everyday use, Academic purposes (college and university), and Vocational and career purposes

We serve students at all English levels:

    • Beginner beginners (non-credit)
    • Beginners (level 1)
    • Intermediate learners (level 2)
    • High-intermediate learners (level 3)
    • Advanced learners (level 4)

We have classes in:

    • Grammar
    • Listening and Speaking
    • Reading and Writing
    • Conversation
    • Pronunciation

contacts

Didem Ekici, ESL Faculty

dekici@peralta.edu

Christa Ferrero-Castaneda, ESL Faculty

cferrero@peralta.edu

George Irving, ESL Faculty

girving@peralta.edu

Brian Ng, ESL Faculty

bng@peralta.edu

M. Sedique Popal, ESL Faculty

mpopal@peralta.edu

Andrea Safir, ESL Faculty

asafir@peralta.edu

Lorna Shashinda, ESL Faculty

ljshashinda@peralta.edu

X