Academic Departments and Divisions

Office of Instruction: Main office: (510)748-2352, Administration, A Building

Main Contact
Email
Vice President of Instruction
Dr. Diana Bajrami
dbajrami@peralta.edu
Executive Assistant to the Vice President of Instruction
Marivic Lizardo
mlizardo@peralta.edu
Sr. Academic Support Services Specialist
Min Y. Wu
mwu@peralta.edu
Articulation Officer
Vinh Phan
vphan@peralta.edu
Curriculum & Student Learning Outcome and Assessment Specialist
Vacant
College Evaluation Coordinator & Chair of Chairs
Vanson Nguyen
vansonnguyen@peralta.edu
Tenure Review Coordinator
TBD
N/A

Career and Work Education Division: Main office: (510)748-2316, H building, H264

Main Contact
Email
Dean
Eva Jennings
ejennings@peralta.edu
Staff Assistant
Donna A. Jones
dajones@peralta.edu
Career Education Coordinator
Vacant
N/A
Aviation Maintenance Technician Supervisor
Esther Cheng
echeng@peralta.edu
ATECH Facility Supervisor
Cándido Mejía
cmejia@peralta.edu
Department
Chairs
Contact
Apparel Design & Merchandising (ADAM)
OJ Roundtree
ojroundtree@peralta.edu
Auto Body & Paint (AUTO B)
Rick Greenspan
rgreenspan@peralta.edu
Automotive Technology (ATECH)
Rick Greenspan
rgreenspan@peralta.edu
Aviation Maintenance Technology (AMT)
Hoi Ko
hko@peralta.edu
Business & Entrepreneurship (BUS)
Olga Fish
ofish@peralta.edu
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)
TBD
N/A
Community Education
Eva Jennings
ejennings@peralta.edu
Dental Assisting (DENTL)
Carla Pegues
cpegues@peralta.edu
Diesel Mechanics (DMECH)
John Taylor
jtaylor@peralta.edu
Blair Norton
bnorton@peralta.edu
Economics (ECON)
Olga Fish
ofish@peralta.edu
Health Occupations (HLTOC)
Olga Fish
ofish@peralta.edu
Workforce Development Programs
Lead
Contact
Apprenticeships
Eva Jennings, Dean
ejennings@peralta.edu
Cooperative Wok Experience Education
TBD
N/A
Customized Training
TBD
N/A
Regional Employer Engagement
(Advanced Transportation & Renewable Energy)
Pam Gutman
pgutman@peralta.edu

Liberal Studies & Language Arts Division: Main Office: (510) 748-2373, D Building, D203

Main Contact
Email
Dean
Lilia Celhay
lcelhay@peralta.edu
Staff Assistant
Malik Shabazz
Director of HSI/Puente/ACCESSO
Horacio Corona Lira
hcorona@peralta.edu
Student Services Specialist
Vacant
Puente Counselor
Danna Chavez Baquero
dannachavez@peralta.edu
Department
Chairs
Contact
African-American Studies
Ed Loretto
eloretto@peralta.edu
Sarah Peterson-Guada
speterson@peralta.edu
Art
Drew Burgess
dburgess@peralta.edu
Asian & Asian-American Studies
Ed Loretto
eloretto@peralta.edu
Sarah Peterson-Guada
speterson@peralta.edu
Chinese
Christa Ferrero-Castaneda
cferrero@peralta.edu
Didem Ekici
dekici@peralta.edu
Communication
Jennifer Fowler
jfowler@peralta.edu
Maurice Jones
majones@peralta.edu
Dance
Drew Burgess
dburgess@peralta.edu
English
Jennifer Fowler
jfowler@peralta.edu
Maurice Jones
majones@peralta.edu
English to Speakers of Other Language
Christa Ferrero-Castaneda
cferrero@peralta.edu
Didem Ekici
dekici@peralta.edu
History
Ed Loretto
eloretto@peralta.edu
Sarah Peterson-Guada
speterson@peralta.edu
Humanities
Jennifer Fowler
jfowler@peralta.edu
Maurice Jones
majones@peralta.edu
Mexican & Latin-American Studies
Ed Loretto
eloretto@peralta.edu
Sarah Peterson-Guada
speterson@peralta.edu
Music
Drew Burgess
dburgess@peralta.edu
Philosophy
Jennifer Fowler
jfowler@peralta.edu
Maurice Jones
majones@peralta.edu
Political Science
Ed Loretto
eloretto@peralta.edu
Psychology
Ed Loretto
eloretto@peralta.edu
Sarah Peterson-Guada
speterson@peralta.edu
Sociology
Ed Loretto
eloretto@peralta.edu
Sarah Peterson-Guada
speterson@peralta.edu
Spanish
Christa Ferrero-Castaneda
cferrero@peralta.edu
Didem Ekici
dekici@peralta.edu
Vietnamese
Christa Ferrero-Castaneda
cferrero@peralta.edu
Didem Ekici
dekici@peralta.edu

Science, Technology, Engineering, Art & Math Division, Main Office: (510) 466-5370, 860 Atlantic Avenue

Main Contact
Email
Interim Dean
Dr. Reza Majlesi
rmajlesi@peralta.edu
Staff Assistant
Chevonn Herbert
cherbert@peralta.edu
Physical Sciences Laboratory Technician
TBD
Coordinator of Biology Labs
Eric Stevens
estevens@peralta.edu
Department
Chairs
Contact
Anthropology
Jayne Smithson
jsmithson@peralta.edu
Cady Carmichael
ccarmichael@peralta.edu
Astronomy
Jayne Smithson
jsmithson@peralta.edu
Cady Carmichael
ccarmichael@peralta.edu
Biology
Leslie Reiman
lreiman@peralta.edu
Sue Altenbach
saltenbach@peralta.edu
Chemistry
Jayne Smithson
jsmithson@peralta.edu
Cady Carmichael
ccarmichael@peralta.edu
Computer Information Systems
Anthony Villegas
avillegas@peralta.edu
Geography
Jayne Smithson
jsmithson@peralta.edu
Cady Carmichael
ccarmichael@peralta.edu
Geology
Jayne Smithson
jsmithson@peralta.edu
Cady Carmichael
ccarmichael@peralta.edu
Health Education
Leslie Reiman
lreiman@peralta.edu
Sue Altenbach
saltenbach@peralta.edu
Kinesiology
Leslie Reiman
lreiman@peralta.edu
Sue Altenbach
saltenbach@peralta.edu
Mathematics
Khalilah Beal
kbeal@peralta.edu
Vanson Nguyen
vansonnguyen@peralta.edu
Physics
Jayne Smithson
jsmithson@peralta.edu
Cady Carmichael
ccarmichael@peralta.edu

Library: Main Office: (510 748-2398), 1st Floor, L Building

Learning Resource Center / Tutorial & Assessment Center (253): Main Office: (510) 748-2258, Welcome Center, A Building

Main Contact
Email
Head Librarian
Jane McKenna
jmckenna@peralta.edu
Librarian
Ann Buchalter
abuchalter@peralta.edu
Principal Library Technician
Caitlin Gilbert
cgilbert@peralta.edu
Senior Library Technician
Glenda Gardner
ggardner@peralta.edu
Senior Library Technician
Vacant
N/A
Main Contact
Email
Faculty Coordinator:
Academic Labs
TBD
N/A
Learning Resource Center Coordinator
Anna O’Neal
aoneal@peralta.edu

Follett Bookstore (External Partner): Follett Bookstore (External Partner)

Main Contact
Email
Bookstore Manager
0187mgr@follett.com
X