English (ENGL)

about English (ENGL)

The English Department offers classes addressing English skills at the basic, developmental and transfer levels. We are committed to presenting engaging material that addresses the varied interests and needs of our students. We are focused on helping students achieve their transfer requirements, and offering the necessary critical thinking and composition and reading courses required by 4-year transfer institutions.

Degree and Certificate Maps

Click below to view the course pathway to an AA/AS Degree & Certificate

2021-2022 Catalog

Course Descriptions and Program Requirements

Get Help from a Counselor

Having trouble navigating the program? We are here to help!

What you will learn:

Studying English will give you skills in expression and critical thinking that can be applied in many aspects of your personal and professional life. Through reading and writing, you will develop an understanding and appreciation for worldwide cultures and diverse perspectives, learn how to evaluate information, and develop important foundational skills for life-long learning.

Recommended Course Sequence

What can I do with a degree in English (ENGL)

Graduating with a B.A. in English at a four-year institution can potentially offer a lot of flexibility in terms of future careers. Professions for English majors include administration, management, teaching, editing, and publishing.

contacts

Juanita Alexander

jalexander@peralta.edu

Christopher Blood

cblood@peralta.edu

Darlene Elasigue

delasigue@peralta.edu

Jennifer Fowler

jfowler@peralta.edu

Michelle Hansen Little

mhansen@peralta.edu

Maurice Jones

majones@peralta.edu

Patricia Nelson

pnelson@peralta.edu

Keenan Norris

knorris@peralta.edu

Peter J. Pappas

pjpappas@peralta.edu

Jay Rubin

jrubin@peralta.edu

Wanda Sabir

wsabir@peralta.edu

Teya Schaffer

tschaffer@peralta.edu

Stefanie A. Ulrey

sulrey@peralta.edu

Sandra Vaughn

svaughn@peralta.edu

X