Institutional Effectiveness Committee

Meeting Schedule & Location: 

Participatory Group
2nd Thursday, 2:00pm, L237


In the past there was a Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Committee (SLOAC), made up primarily of faculty. This committee was to insure the review and institutionalization of Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs) for all courses and programs was completed.

In 2010 the committee charge was broadened to include oversight of all College planning processes, including Program Review. The name of the committee was revised to the Institutional Effectiveness Committee (IEC) and an Institutional Effectiveness Coordinator position was created.


In 2015, as part of the College’s reflection and assessment of committee charges and processes College Council reaffirmed the committee charge and revised the committee name to the Planning, Research, and Institutional Effectiveness Committee (PRIEC). The single coordination position was converted into three positions representing student services and the two academic divisions.

Our Mission & Responsibilities

The mission of the Planning, Research and Institutional Effectiveness Committee (PRIEC) is to ensure that the college maintains a set of ongoing and systematic institutional processes and practices that include planning, the evaluation of programs and services, the identification and measurement of outcomes across all institutional units (including learning outcomes in instructional programs), and the use of data and assessment results to inform decision-making. All of these activities are accomplished with the purpose of improving programs and services and increasing student success and institutional quality. [i]

[i] Definition provided by the Center for Applied Research, and the Institute on Best Practices in Institutional Effectiveness.

2023 – 2024 Membership

Vacant, Co-Chair

Director of Research and Planning

Andrew Park, Co-Chair

 Faculty (also SLOAC rep)

Kawanna Rollins, Co-Chair


Maurice Jones

Acting Vice President of Instruction

Khalilah Beal-Uribe


Louie Martirez y McFarland


VACANT (pending new appointment)


Didem Ekici


VACANT (for curriculum specialist)


Natay Myers


AY 2023-2024

AY 2022-2023

AY 2021-2022

AY 2020-2021

AY 2019-2020

  • May 14, 2020 (Agenda) (Minutes)
  • April 9, 2020 (Agenda) (Minutes)
  • March, 2020
    • March IEC meeting was cancelled in order to allow faculty time to attend remote teaching professional development events in response to COVID-19
  • February 13, 2020 (Agenda) (Minutes)
  • December, 2019
    • December IEC meeting was canceled to allow members to participate and contribute to ISER teams
  • November 2019
    • In lieu of the November meeting, committee members served on program review validation teams on November 13, 2019.
  • October 10, 2019 (Agenda)
  • September 19, 2019 (Agenda) (Minutes)

ARCHIVE: 2019 and earlier